Something To Ponder II

3 Jul

Jan Shim as expected was quick to response to my earlier post, Something To Ponder, with this reply:

  • Cikgu, I think it would be a great idea for the Class of May 2009 (and any other previous and current early bird Class volunteer) to organize a cleaning campaign of the said area. We don’t need to be ISO certified to have the common sense and sifat bergotong royong to avoid an “Eye Sore”

AND it was promptly followed (greatly expected too) by the sweet ever Lin Ji, in which she wrote:

  • Hi cikgu! and Hi Jan! haha.. I wouldn’t mind at all to volunteer to clean beaches! I was once in a group of 5 going around beach to beach in BSB just to clean the rubbish!  Too bad the group members are away now but it’ll be awesome if I could do it with SSS friends!!Do let me know if it’s planned!!! I’m more than happy to assist and above all, it’ll be very nice to meet up with all you and them again!!! =D

I have set the date, 12th. July, 2009, for our cleaning campaign at the designated beach starting at 4 pm, followed by a picnic (killing three birds with one stone, sambil menyelam minum air) and shooting the sunsets later.

The truth was, I don’t see a single dustbin at all in that area. We come to ‘chicken & egg’ situation in trying to  decide whose fault it really is. To me, Bruneians are generally simple minded – ‘if no rubbish bin provided means you can throw rubbish any where you like’ mentality. We are not trying to point fingers now. We need action. I will try to talk to Ah Seng of First Emporium to see if he can sponsor Jerudong beach one big dustbin on that occasion.

Any other suggestion/s is very much appreciated. Everybody is welcome to join.

REMEMBER, it is only a picnic🙂


22 Responses to “Something To Ponder II”

  1. Jan Shim 03/07/2009 at 8:17 pm #

    That’s also the day when NBT holds their annual Toyota Treasure Hunt event. It’s ok, I’m not shooting that event so we can find our own treasures @ Jerudong Beach.

    12 July 2009 it is then!

  2. Sheikh Mansor Sheikh Mohammad 03/07/2009 at 8:58 pm #

    Yes, 12th. July, 2009 is our date bro… We don’t need to have 100 volunteers on that day. Something like 30 would be nice🙂

  3. Floweret 03/07/2009 at 9:33 pm #

    I’m excited already!!!!!! =D 12th July it is! I’ll send some news along the way to whoever I can come across!! Jan, make sure you bring loads of spare batteries for your good ol’ camera!!! hehehe!!!

    • Jan Shim 03/07/2009 at 9:44 pm #

      If you want me to shoot, make sure you come full charged so that you don’t go low batt on us while you “help” pick up my share of the natural and “man-made deposits”🙂

      • Sheikh Mansor Sheikh Mohammad 03/07/2009 at 10:25 pm #

        Make sure u take with u your make-up set for the shoot Lin Ji… BUT sweaty face can appear sexy too on Jan’s camera… Hehehe… Bring D along🙂

        • floweret 03/07/2009 at 10:35 pm #

          HAHAHHAHA! Last time I remember, I look GHASTLY with make-up!!!! hahaha.. It’ll be fun!! and yes, I shall bring him along!!!

  4. floweret 03/07/2009 at 10:30 pm #

    hahaha.. =D Oh by the way Cikgu, I’ve posted something about this too in my blog! So I hope my usual blog hoppers would come by and read it! If we don’t get 30 or 100 or 1000, least some would know that we are doing something to clean our priceless beach!! =D haha

  5. Jenn 04/07/2009 at 12:07 pm #

    I think its a nice outing (and meaningful too). Count me in. See you all there.

    Anything else to prepare kah Cikgu?

  6. Eve Wong 04/07/2009 at 2:49 pm #

    I got the message from Jan. That’s cool….. sweat+laughter+bekerjasama…. that will be nice. Count me in.

    Cikgu, do we need to bring anything along?

  7. Eve Wong 07/07/2009 at 9:36 am #

    Cikgu, could i also bring along my friends to help on this coming Sunday?

  8. biker65 07/07/2009 at 10:37 am #

    Cikgu, I’ll be bringing my family with me, hehehe….
    Hope to see you guys this weekend…..cheers

  9. Lin Ji 10/07/2009 at 8:35 pm #

    Hi Cikgu! To reconfirm everything for this Sunday, it is at Jerudong Beach, at 4pm, 12th July. Yes? I have talked to some friends about this whom are much interested in cleaning the beach as well and we have made it a.. well, sort of an official event in facebook. Check it here: http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=99478989108

    I was wondering too, if there are no dustbins there, how do we dispose the litter bags? =/

    • Choy 11/07/2009 at 9:55 am #

      Hi Lin ji,

      Yes, its confirmed, tomorrow at Jerudong beach starting 4 pm. Thank you for your effort of convincing others to join us🙂

      Ah Seng of 1st. Emporium has sponsored 2 dustbins, but, for the rubbish collected that day will be cleared the same day. I will try to get my garbage collector to help.

      See you all tomorrow…

  10. Stephanie Chow 13/07/2009 at 9:10 pm #

    sorry I missed this event …. so how do I get updated ah ??!!

    • Jan Shim 13/07/2009 at 10:22 pm #

      The event was a success. The before and after pictures of Jerudong Beach look as though they have been photoshopped. Kudos to the team effort and show of support from the Class of May 2009 and also from Lin Ji and her UBD mates!

      Since this blog doesn’t have a Feedburner subscription tool, you may want to start using Google Reader to keep track of updates.

  11. Lin Ji 14/07/2009 at 7:33 am #

    Aye! It’s a success indeed!! My friends enjoyed it so much and urged that if there’s anything like this in the future, they’d like to participate too!!! Thanks Cikgu for organising the whole thing!! The event won’t have happened if you hadn’t initiated it!! =D

Leave a Reply

