Yes, Why I did It…?

4 Jun

I was half-way doing my full intensive course for Class of May 2009 (Brunei Citizenship’s applicants) when a student fondly called Jan told me about someone writing about me in a blog. He couldn’t say whether the writer was a boy or a girl and the worst part was Jan has forgotten the blog address. Walla…!!!

A mentee turned mentor

A mentee turned mentor

It was only a couple of days later Jan could confirm to me the blog he was talking about. It was from my ever sweet student, Lin Ji – And this is what she wrote:

Appreciate. Seri Siap Siaga.

If there is something I have forgotten, it’s how I lucky I am. I have to thank Cikgu Mansor for this. I salute you Cikgu. I really do.

Lin Ji & Dixon

I know I was very angry when I find out that I have a red kad pintar when I should be given a yellow one. It’s rightfully mine but things just didn’t go the way I want them to. Who shall I blame this to? No one. Right now, I am glad that I was put into this situation, a situation where I have to work hard to get the yellow identity card. Because, right now – at this very moment, I know I am a REAL citizen. A citizen that knows Kebawah Duli’s name, a citizen that knows what the country requires, a citizen that knows the history of the country, a citizen that is ready to take up any challenge to make the country proud. I know I have the seed of patriotism in me but it was only recently that Cikgu was able to let that very seed grow.

From my point of view, the class I attended did not aim to just help us get through the Malay test. The Malay test is just for us to prove that we know Malay language. Trust me. What the class actually focused on was to teach us to be a better person. Sikap berhijrah adalah mustahak dan harus dipupuk oleh setiap rakyat jati negara kita supaya kita dapat bersama-sama membangunkan prestasi negara kita ke tahap yang lebih tinggi. Kita tidak akan hanya bergantung kepada usaha-usaha orang asing atau subsidi kerajaan. I can seriously tell you now that Cikgu Mansor is one of the loudest, nastiest, nicest, kindest, most loving teacher I have ever known. And it’s him that showed me the better side of things.

When I first entered the class, I barely knew their names. I only managed to find out the names of the people who sat next to me. I did not manage to talk to whoever that sat behind me. I did not know how to start a conversation. And surprisingly, today – the thought of being apart from them just hurts! We have become a huge family. We have nicknamed some – we have grown into this bond that I do not want it to break. Time really just flew by! The class has ended! =( We have many bosses around who attended this class as well, and a couple of students like myself. We clicked so nicely! We joked. We had fun. I do not think I could find another class in the world that is as great as the one i just had. Where can you find a class where bosses and students are made to clean the toilet? Students okaylah but bosses? seriously? They could easily just click their fingers and have their men to come wash the toilet for them. But see, this is the thing, they didn’t. We were united!

At SPA after the Exam
At SPA after the Exam


We helped each other so much in these two weeks. We looked at each other for the whole two weeks (apart from one sunday), from 9am (or earlier) to 10pm (or much later). We had lunch together. We had dinner together. We sang together. We prayed together and for each other.

Oh, I seriously will miss them. When I do get my yellow Identity Card, I know that I will not only feel proud but thankful. I will think of you. I will remember all these memories.

I was dumbfounded. I really don’t know what to say.

Thank you Jan for highlighting me to this. Thank you to you too Lin Ji for being appreciative.

And Jan was the one responsible to make me start blogging in wordpress – to become a serious writer.

Thank you both of you. That is why I did it…

68 Responses to “Yes, Why I did It…?”

  1. Caroline 04/06/2009 at 9:57 am #

    That’s from the heart.

  2. sgdavid 04/06/2009 at 11:28 am #

    I met Jan several times in Singapore and every time our conversation revolves around Photography, Singapore Food & Shopping. I know Jan loves the food here in Singapore and of coz the shopping during the Great Singapore Sale!!! Having said that he never fail to convince me each time to visit Brunei for the “Kolo Mee” and visit the untouched beauty outback of Brunei. To be honest…having spent a large amount of time in this concrete jungle, I was pretty sold on the idea of visiting him in Brunei someday.

    On the other hand, I was trying to convince him to move his base to Singapore as there are more commercial photography opportunities here and possibly work out something together.
    Well….all I can say that, it is all futile and that he is applying for citizenship.

    I can see that he loves the lifestyle back in Brunei so much so that he feels he will spend the rest of his life there with his family. I wish him all the best!

    To be honest, through his photo, I have a different impression of Brunei. I don’t know whether it is his photography skills or there are really such beautiful places in Brunei. I have somehow changed my impression of Brunei. In my mind before, I used to think that Brunei has nothing to offer but jungle…’all thanks to my military training in Temburong’. I were there twice and each time in Temburong and I used to think that Jan lives in an isolated house in the middle of nowhere, just like those I see in Temburong.

    Anyway, so much for now and just want to wish Jan all the best for his citizenship. Just in case you change your mind, we welcome you in Singapore!!!

    sgdavid

    • Sheikh Mansor Sheikh Mohammad 04/06/2009 at 2:20 pm #

      Fully agree with you that Jan likes Singapore so much but he LOVES Brunei more🙂 After the six weeks intensive course last month, he went to your beloved country for a short two days one night ‘honeymoon’ trip with his dearie wife. He was there for about ten years I believe.

      Sorry David, Brunei needs Jan Shim here more than Singapore needs him. He has told me of his pure ambition of promoting Brunei globally thru his photographic lenses and expertise. I myself has become very fond of him. He is the kind of citizen that Brunei be proud of. Just mark my word.

      Thanks for dropping-by. Take care yourself David, or shall I say, bro David? Adios

  3. Jean 04/06/2009 at 12:23 pm #

    That’s my cousin, cikgu! Haha. Dixon. And they are both still together =D

  4. Colin 04/06/2009 at 1:31 pm #

    Hey David, leave Jan alone lol, he loves Brunei alot😀

    Anyway all the best Jan. In my contacts with Jan, he has always been a patriot and makes alot of his time available for the country’s national events, to visit and cover them.

    I’ve been to Brunei quite a bit, and I would agree why Jan loves his country so much. Brunei is truly a peaceful and wonderful country.😀

  5. e.t. 04/06/2009 at 3:35 pm #

    We, “Born-with-the-right-to-be-citizen” Permanent Residents need someone to help us out. Help us attain what is rightfully ours in the first place. Help us attain something that, many within the system have worked hard to build and sustain that double standard mentality, would have seen many of us in very different life situations than those we are currently in. some would have gone off to state-funded uni courses with possibly better futures, some working in the gov’t sectors n able to feed their families better, some not having to be humiliated at customs, etc. And all of us not having to explain over again to the curious: Why there are the state-born “Permanent Residents” and the “Citizens” – and why we are the state-born “Permanent Residents”.

    Unfortunately b’cos of the hard lessons we learnt thru being non-citizens, the system has churned out many unpatriotic individuals. Can u really blame them.

    I have to admit some of us would most likely have taken for granted the natural privileges that come with being born a citizen if we didn’t have to work hard for it. How many times have we heard or how many people do we know have abused their opportunities of further education abroad just to come back without a degree, or developed airs demanding a manager level with its benefits and pay for their first job, complaining that the work load and pay that comes with their existing employment is not up to par with their certification, brush off those form the lower tiers who work harder than them to serve the country, replace their roots with foreign ones, adopt a whole culture that clash with those of their parents. (Tho having a certificate or a degree doesn’t equal maturity or have any indication to the level of wisdom of that individual. thats a whole new discussion now..)

    Thinking about it, if the lot of us had it real easy, we wouldn’t have the character of tenacity, perseverance, tolerance of those like us (who saw their opportunities blown away js because we weren’t the right IC color), understanding situations of those less fortunate, creativity to survive, appreciation of our own identities, and such. Of course, this largely depends on our satisfaction of where we are now, and the ability to maturely realize that the grass isn’t always greener on the other side. We are the ones who have seen the flip side of things. We are the ones who have been around watching the progress and change in our country and being a part of it.

    Ur tuition has been the answer for many of us out there. I’m sure many of them are now more conscious-driven citizens too. Especially due to the structure of ur classes – simple lessons on humility, equality, civic community-mindedness and responsibility, and exploring the roles we play in our society and the domino effect of our actions. I think its safe to say that there are now more of us who appreciate our culture, language, community and surroundings better; our ketupats, local night stalls scenes, our ceremonies, our proboscis monkeys, beautiful beaches, our imperfect but full-of-personality blend of english / malay / chinese.

    Thank u for helping us, cikgu. I like the way Lin Ji wrote of her gratitude and those of others in our class abt ur lessons and what has blossomed frm it. Ppl, dont’ be fooled by flowery words and praises – it’s an experience that can be cringe-inducing, grudge-bearing, and just plain humiliating for some of us =p but it was an experience well worth – once we have studied hard, worked hard, provided the support for each other, even changed a little – and then passed. For those who didn’t get it the first time or the times after that, you still deserve to be called a citizen, as this is our home land, this is where we were born, this is a large part of our identity.

    I hope that you will continue ur passion in helping to ‘documentally convert’ (if theres ever such a phrase) those who are “Permanent Resident” Citizens into nation-accepted Citizens. This time it’s not just a piece of document – it attaches with it so many opportunities which are rightfully ours.

    • Sheikh Mansor Sheikh Mohammad 04/06/2009 at 4:32 pm #

      Quote
      some would have gone off to state-funded uni courses with possibly better futures, some working in the gov’t sectors n able to feed their families better, some not having to be humiliated at customs, etc
      Unquote

      I understood well your inner feelings E.T. I was there… I cried the day I got my RED identity card when I was twelve, being the 10 best Malay students shortlisted to start my Lower Secondary schooling in Singapore, and all hopes quashed by those ‘babi’ gate keepers in the goverment headed by my grand pa’s first cousin, Pehin Jamil. What wrong could possibly be done by a twelve years old intellegent little boy? I’m supposed to be in the league of Dato Paduka Haji (Baba) Abd. Hamid bin Hj. Jaafar by now, if not because of those bastards. I believed, that was not what Al-Marhum Paduka Seri Begawan wanted on the first place. Or, was it?

    • Sheikh Mansor Sheikh Mohammad 04/06/2009 at 7:52 pm #

      On a lighter note, You, Lin Ji & Jan Shim can make a very good obituary for me when I die… I’m looking foward for it… Hehehe…

  6. Matthew Lo 04/06/2009 at 3:50 pm #

    I am a student of Cikgu Mansor awaiting my turn for the citizenship exams. I can relate to the story because I didn’t appreciate the beauty of life. In the past, I was so focused on life’s obstacles that it brought me to a darker and negative world.
    People have always told me that things happen for a reason, and that every time we lose something, it’s because god is thinking of something better to give us. I never paid much attention to this, until I realized…that all my obstacles, made me a stronger person…not just physically, but also mentally.
    Every step in life leads you to something else, and for every wrong move you make, you gain experience. Experience is something money can’t buy, and through what you gain, you move one step closer to success.
    People like Lin Ji have a good way of looking at life, in which she appreciates how much she’s gained while holding her red IC. I realize that getting a citizenship through exam is another experience that makes us value our citizenship much more, instead of taking it for granted. I would have never seen this side of life, if I was born with a silver spoon in my mouth.

    • Sheikh Mansor Sheikh Mohammad 04/06/2009 at 4:41 pm #

      Matthew,

      I knew after that unfortunate RED ic incedent, my dad was heart broken with my 360 degrees turn of the way I look at life. I grew up as a problematic boy who likes to fight – fighting anything just for the sake of not making it easy for people. I became a rebel. (Rebel with a couse…???)

      To date, I still can’t get the answer. And I’m still fighting…

      That is why ‘I Did It…” & I did it My Way…

      • Matthew 19/06/2009 at 9:32 am #

        I’m still fighting too. Perhaps some of your success in life will motivate me to achieve mine…

    • Jan Shim 09/06/2009 at 12:00 am #

      @ Matthew

      I wonder if you were in my early bird class if we had met as I didn’t have much chance to get to know most of the early faces. The weeks nearer to intensive had brought us emotionally closer together to the point that some of us are inseparable now (and constantly finding reasons to reacquainted (I don’t think I ever felt this way in college).

      “In the past, I was so focused on life’s obstacles that it brought me to a darker and negative world.”

      I’m delighted to read about your positive approach towards life now. I am one of those who believe everything happens for a reason. Whether for good or bad, fair or otherwise, we are here today for a reason. Before I joined the class, there were uncertainties and doubts about whether I would make it having already failed the exam twice as far as a decade back. It didn’t take long for me to find out from relatives, friends and complete strangers who happened to be former students of Cikgu and hearing their success stories gave me renewed hope—it was motivating and at the same time liberated the uncertainties and doubts I had harboured.

      “Every step in life leads you to something else, and for every wrong move you make, you gain experience. Experience is something money can’t buy, and through what you gain, you move one step closer to success.”

      Like a photography learning curve, there’s no right or wrong only interpretations. Having gone through 6 weeks of the class, I gained valuable insight into the way Cikgu runs the course—it’s simply HARDCORE like no other.

      Anyone who has seen one of Russell Peters comedy knows this. He constantly reminds “white folks to beat their kids and how Asian kids get their ass whopped” The message may be hilarious but it’s not joke. We get our asses whopped for a reason and it’s to instill the lost art of DISCIPLINE—something many students akin to as “military school”.

      The support system that is grown in-house helps foster bond between classmates. That bond is what helps us get through the difficult times to finally seeing the light at the end of what may be a very dark tunnel for many. I nearly gave up on photography when I started a little less than 5 years ago. Giving up would have been way too easy but the greatest mistake would have been not trying. I built a photography career (having given up 13 years of IT career) within six months of owning my first camera the Canon 300D. Imagine that tight rope that separated me from making it and failing—actually I can’t imagine that at all. I simply followed my heart and go to where I am today through perseverance.

      See how messed up things are now? It all began with an innocent WordPress blog and all of a sudden we’re all reminiscing “old times” haha!Time flies—it’s better to live life, make mistakes and learn along the way then to waste opportunities not knowing if we’ll ever “make it”.

      From the bottom of my heart I thank His Majesty’s government for giving me this golden opportunity and Cikgu Mansor for his dedication in helping us harvest this opportunity—sowing the seeds to prepare students to be responsible citizens of Brunei Darussalam. Citizens that Brunei can be proud of.

  7. Lin Ji 04/06/2009 at 5:18 pm #

    Hi Cikgu!! If you think you are dumbfounded, you’re not alone. haha. Thank you so much for reading and appreciating my thoughts and beliefs through all the guidance you’ve shown us. Above all, thank you so much in believing that I could do it. Though I speak local Malay frequently, I cannot say that my Malay writing performance was(is?)as good. haha.. It has been a year and the memories are still fresh in my head.

    To all readers, I really appreciate and grateful that you have read what I wrote and feel for just a moment what I felt and see what I perceived. i wish you all the best and I sincerely hope that life would be different, would be better, when you finally get the yellow I.C!!

    Thanks for your blessings Cikgu! Thanks for everything!

    • Sheikh Mansor Sheikh Mohammad 04/06/2009 at 5:42 pm #

      You are welcome Stephenie aka Lin Ji… Jan & U are the people responsible for me starting blogging here, in English. Mati eh, betagar udah bah…🙂

  8. Lin Ji 04/06/2009 at 5:20 pm #

    P.S: Oh by the way Cikgu, you upgraded your shouting to kissing kah? not bad ah.. hahaha

  9. Ronald 04/06/2009 at 7:43 pm #

    Hi Lin Ji, really long time didn’t meet u. So happy to see ur well written message at our dearest Cikgu blog. hehe. Hope u doing well. Marriage soon? Don’t forget us ah..

    Cikgu, i really appreciate your help to polish our “Tagar” Malay. All the sweet moments during our class still floating on my mind. Right until now, eventhough after almost a year (To be exact 361days), is just like yesterday. Cool oh.. We miss Cikgu Teriak.. haha.. Lucky for newer batch, Cikgu become more romantic. “Kissing” Lin Ji?

    Have a nice day everyone! Cheers

    • Sheikh Mansor Sheikh Mohammad 04/06/2009 at 7:47 pm #

      Aiyoh Lonal, u dun make me stat spiking chinit ah… Where got kissing Lin Ji? U dun listen to lumors ah… hehehe…

  10. Ronald 04/06/2009 at 7:55 pm #

    Aiya cikgu, i still have “R” pronounciation la..
    The additional quote “la, ah, mah and etc” sometime helps a lot to provide special feelings toward what we trying to express. Betul tak, cikgu? haha

    • Sheikh Mansor Sheikh Mohammad 05/06/2009 at 5:58 am #

      English should be spoken as English. Likewise, Malay also should be spoken properly. Don’t take things for granted. When in Rome, do like the Romans do…🙂

  11. Patrick 04/06/2009 at 8:24 pm #

    The kiss routine have proven to The Class of May 2009!! Everyone turn up earlier than expected…

  12. James Wong 05/06/2009 at 9:02 pm #

    Hi Cikgu!

    Warm greetings from Miri! You have an interesting blog – I’m bookmarking it, haha! You may like to know that we share something in common – Jan was also the one who asked me to migrate to WordPress! I was reluctant at first, for a host of reasons. At my age I don’t like to learn new things and unlearn the old ones, haha! But one fine day Jan managed to convinced me. Perhaps one day if we meet, the I will tell you why. Cheers and all the best!
    🙂 James Wong, Miri

    • Sheikh Mansor Sheikh Mohammad 05/06/2009 at 9:17 pm #

      Hi James, thank you the visit and your warm greetings. I really owe this to Jan. He not only introduced this site for me, but silently without my knowledge, marketing it. How I wish that he is a woman… Hehehe…

      Please do enjoy my writings since we are all still able to. I was banned from one forum once… Ahaks…!!!

      Take care bro… Adios

  13. Alan Chai 06/06/2009 at 12:03 pm #

    Hi Cikgu,

    My brother was a former student of yours and thanks to your class and guidance, he’s proud to be a Brunei Citizen. Two of my sisters have also attended your class and are waiting for their results. I have something to comment about Jan. Before i met Jan, i used to be careless with my spending and had changed more than 6 cameras because I never seemed to be good in photography always thinking I needed a better camera. After knowing him, he’s shown me a side of me that I didn’t know existed ie be true and committed to one camera and learn how to take pictures. I know now it’s not the camera but the person behind the camera that takes good pictures. Through Jan’s guidance, I am no longer careless with my money and am taking better more meaningful pictures than I could before. I wish him all the best in his Citizenship exam.

    • Sheikh Mansor Sheikh Mohammad 06/06/2009 at 12:54 pm #

      3 of your siblings were with me… Looking foward to have you in my class sometime (should you still a PR).

      Yup, Jan is such a marvelous guy. This is someone the State should be giving citizenship freely like that Singaporean lawyer🙂

  14. sarajane228 08/06/2009 at 1:18 am #

    Hello Cikgu, this is Sara from Hong Kong and am also new to WordPress!🙂

    I know Jan through WordPress not long ago and am very fascinating about his works very much – pictures he took are truly beautiful and stunning. As I also like photography but in a very elementary level so asked him about questions/advise about it and he’s very patience and friendly to me. He’s even helping me to organising my trip to visit his home country! I really want to thank him for it!!

    Well, I should keep it short in my first writing. Hope everything is great with you and everyone in Brunei. Will coming back to visit your blog….keep it up!!

    Cheers,
    Sara

    • Sheikh Mansor Sheikh Mohammad 08/06/2009 at 1:32 am #

      Hi Sara,

      Thank you for dropping-by to say hello. I’m glad to be your friend.

      Jan indeed is a very wonderful guy. He used to be my student, and now he has ‘up-graded’ himself to become my mentor, in photography. He is always willing to help.

      I love photography, but all this while just using a fully auto camera. And only recently I became serious about it and bought myself a Nikon D90.

      Please do drop-by again. I will looking foward for it.

      Take good care. Adios

      • Danny 22/03/2010 at 10:08 pm #

        Application for Brunei citizen.

        • Danny 22/03/2010 at 10:12 pm #

          Hello, sir Please help me to apply Brunei citizen ok. Thank you sir.

          • Choy 29/03/2010 at 10:58 am #

            My number is 7136812. Please come to my class with all your relevant documents, birth cert., ic, entry/residence permit, marriage cert., child birth cert., etc……

            Thank you the interest🙂

  15. Jellen 08/06/2009 at 7:44 pm #

    Cikgu , Are thinking of becoming a professional photographer as a sideline when the intense class is over? Do remember to post your photos after your trip to Tasek Merimbun with Jan…

    • Sheikh Mansor Sheikh Mohammad 08/06/2009 at 9:17 pm #

      Photography wise, I’m just a hobbyist Jellen. Don’t disturb other people’s rice bowl🙂

      When I’m not doing my full intensive course, normally I travel to attend seminars and lectures in linguistics & literatures, also poetry recital in Malaysia and Indonesia. I do take pictures there, some posted in my Multiply.

      Sure thing, I will post our ‘Merimbun’ photos here, testing my photographic skills under the guidance of the Mr Jan Shim of SHIMWORLD. Walla…!!!

    • Jan Shim 09/06/2009 at 12:16 am #

      Photography can either be very rewarding or it can be downright frustrating. Photography should be enjoyed as a hobby and at a pace that’s comfortable to him/her and it can (in my opinion) provide a therapeutic balance for someone who works in a stressful environment. Cikgu is doing it right where photography is a leisure outlet and not a burden.

  16. Nicholas Leong 09/06/2009 at 11:02 am #

    I must say that I only know Jan through his photos and our on-off Gtalk or MSN chats. And I have always known him as the ambassador for Brunei because thats where I got to know Brunei.

    I haven’t been there in my life, had a few chances which I never took, but its always pretty amazing to see Brunei through Jan’s shots. And I think Brunei should be proud to have Jan, as much as Jan is proud being a Brunei citizen.

    Now where are the flight tickets to Brunei you promised me Jan?😛

    • Jan Shim 09/06/2009 at 11:29 am #

      Nicholas, you don’t need flight tickets to see the beautiful Oriental Pied hornbills (well, you still need to catch a domestic flight from KL to Sarawak). Start your tour of Brunei from my home town and we work out way up to the Brunei capital. After 6 weeks in class in the capital, it was so good to “balik kampong” to be reunited with my family and also the one thing I’ve missed since—the familiar cries of the hornbills that echo the neighbourhood.

      • Nicholas Leong 09/06/2009 at 11:31 am #

        Will take you up on that offer the next time I visit Miri and drive down to Brunei🙂

  17. Nonnie 09/06/2009 at 1:13 pm #

    Cikgu, without you none of us can achieve what we have today.
    You inspired us on what it really mean to be a good citizen and taught us so many that can’t be found in the books.

    You’re our HERO!!!

    *I heart you*

  18. Sheikh Mansor Sheikh Mohammad 09/06/2009 at 2:11 pm #

    Everything started with you all confidence & trust in me leading you all the way, to pass and becoming a responsible citizen, citizen that Brunei would be proud of… Well done Nonnie…🙂

  19. Syazlie 09/06/2009 at 3:05 pm #

    Tahniah kepada Cikgu Mansor kerana telah berjaya mengajar atau ayat yang lebih baik adalah, berkongsi pengalaman and pengetahuan kepada “murid-murid” nya. Proud of u Cikgu Mansor. Keep up the good work.

    Tahniah juga kepada bekas-bekas pelajar yang telah bertungkus lumus mempelajari bahasa melayu.

    Jan, u make me speak malay hehe… i was amaze masa Jan cakap melayu. Waktu tu Jan masih dalam tempoh pembelajaran. There are few words yang Jan gunakan(which i think he learns from the class) which makes me feel that Jan is more malay than me… hehe…

    • Sheikh Mansor Sheikh Mohammad 09/06/2009 at 7:17 pm #

      Insya Allah Syazlie… Terima kasih kerana sudi menjengok di sini… Datang-datanglah selalu🙂

      • Syazlie 09/06/2009 at 7:24 pm #

        Cikgu… im curious. tanya Jan, tapi Jan nda berapa sure.

        When i was in school dulu, i used to go tuition at Mr. Michael Nayagam’s Place in St. Michael. He got a fren name Sheikh Mansor. is that u? or i got a wrong person? hehe

        • Sheikh Mansor Sheikh Mohammad 09/06/2009 at 7:37 pm #

          Ya, it is me… We grew up together having stayed in the same flat, same floor… We played football a lot on the veranda…

          • Syazlie 09/06/2009 at 8:09 pm #

            UNCLEEEE MANSORRRR… it’s me….
            u know my brother, Sharum.

            me… the girl yg u ckp mua nya mcm ur daughter c Faridah…
            Remember? heheheh

          • Sheikh Mansor Sheikh Mohammad 09/06/2009 at 9:28 pm #

            Yes, I remember you well Bibi… Hehehe… Small world ya… How is your dad? And Sharum, how many kids oredi? How abt yourself? Must be a loving wife oredi…🙂

  20. Stephanie Chow 09/06/2009 at 3:10 pm #

    WOW ! I received a msg from Cikgu Mansor some time ago about this blog … and juz now Jan buzzed me on FB … Thanks Jan for “reminding” me to come to the blog ….

    Song of praise for our Cikgu Mansor has not even began …. the things he do and the extend of his help has no words to describe

    Unfortunately for me … I need to go back to Cikgu Mansor soon so he can guide me again ~~)

    It is very true that GOD Almighty has agenda for ALL of us .. the path he laid for each and every Brunei born RED ID …. we are all born with the seed of patriotism but it only takes GOD’s massenger whom we all know is Cikgu Mansor to help and nourish these seeds grow.

    THANK YOU CIKGU MANSOR !!!! You’re the BEST !!!!

    • Jan Shim 09/06/2009 at 3:14 pm #

      Unfortunately for me … I need to go back to Cikgu Mansor soon so he can guide me again ~~)

      Steph, the number of times I’ve run into you @ Fratini Seria (and they haven’t even opened for biz that long ago), I don’t think Cikgu has a cure for that (yet). Haha😛

    • Sheikh Mansor Sheikh Mohammad 09/06/2009 at 7:26 pm #

      Hi Stephenie,

      The way you all said it here, I’m beginning to be scared already…
      (To tell the truth, I sometimes wonders, why I am so passionate in doing what I am doing right now…)

      On a lighter note, you can always join me in my early bird course anytime (it starts on 2nd. July, FOC)🙂

      • Stepanie Chow 10/06/2009 at 8:24 am #

        Dear Cikgu

        No need to be scared lah …. u have been helping and nuturing so many seeds …. look like it is part of your life already.

        Anyway, I will report in for duty on 2nd July ; -)
        What time do you start ?

        Thanksin advance

        • Sheikh Mansor Sheikh Mohammad 10/06/2009 at 12:34 pm #

          Glad to have you back Stephanie… See you on 2nd. July. We start at 7.30 pm. Anybody who come later than that, will have to sing Allah Peliharakan Sultan infront of the class…🙂

          • Wilson 13/06/2009 at 6:58 pm #

            Hi Cikgu,

            This is Wilson, was just wandering when do you start the July class few days ago. After reading your blog just now and yes glad to be back to see on 2nd July and of cos before 7:30pm.

          • Sheikh Mansor Sheikh Mohammad 13/06/2009 at 11:12 pm #

            Hi Wilson. The early bird course for Nov 2009 exam will start on 2nd. July, starting at 7.30 pm. Pls come early. A lot of catching up to do🙂 Btw, any ‘812’ sim card number?

  21. Stephanie Chow 09/06/2009 at 3:17 pm #

    : p

    I need to find the time to re-apply and really re-sit … I am being left behind …. wait .. tunggu lah ~ ~ ~

  22. Stephanie Chow 09/06/2009 at 3:18 pm #

    By the way … we only ran into each other ONCE @ Fratini Seria leh … don’t add too many times !!! Give me bad rep only …. (LOL)

    • Jan Shim 19/06/2009 at 9:40 am #

      No leh, I think I just gave you extra Fratini Frequent Customer Miles😉

  23. Ang Sak Tiong 11/06/2009 at 12:44 pm #

    Dear Cikgu Mansor:
    Thanks a lot! I have received the letter yesterday.I promised I will be a good citizen.

    • Sheikh Mansor Sheikh Mohammad 11/06/2009 at 1:46 pm #

      You are welcome cikgu Tiong… Show your love to the country & most importantly, our beloved Sultan. Be a law abiding citizen. Show good example to your students…

      Well done…!!!

      • Wilson 13/06/2009 at 7:06 pm #

        Cikgu,

        This Cikgu Tiong is my brother and I am proud of him becoming a new citizen of our beloved country. Among the three siblings, I am the only one still holding PR now, can’t wait to join them as a “rakyat yang bertanggungjawab”.

        • Sheikh Mansor Sheikh Mohammad 13/06/2009 at 11:18 pm #

          Oh! I really did not notice that. Luckily I never talk bad things about you infront of Cikgu Tiong. He, Karate Kid. You? Kung Fu? Hehehe…

          Don’t worry Wilson. Your ‘time’ will come… The secret is, to study & be a law-abiding PR…🙂

  24. Budak kecil 14/06/2009 at 1:18 pm #

    Hello!!!!How ru cikgu!!!!!its a nice blog!!!!Lolz

  25. Prefect Nov 08 15/06/2009 at 12:51 am #

    wah, cikgu. Nice blog. I really thank my dad firstly who have literally dragged me to apply for the examination. Otherwise, I’d be stuck with the red card forever and feeling like the black sheep (my whole family has acquired citizenship). And thank goodness I was given the contacts of Cikgu and I started out my trial. Well, seriously I still felt hopeless and skeptical about everythihng done so far until I’ve got “washed” by Cikgu’s words. Which gave me the reason to live more meaningfully in this abode of peace. So my next thanks is to Cikgu, whom also reminds me to be thankful to the country as we’ve (red) been given plentiful of chances. Its how we take it. Thank you Cikgu. Life would’ve have been so different if its without these men in my life.

  26. Sheikh Mansor Sheikh Mohammad 15/06/2009 at 2:39 am #

    Well said Wendy. My sincere appreciation also to you (and the rest) for having your full trust in me guiding you all giong thru the exam and listen attaintatively to my lengthy lectures in class. Thank you you for accepting the role a prefect (as Nonnie put it) and doing it full hearthedly.

    Well done to you and the rest for passing the exam. You all are one step away from the ‘greatest’ moment in your life, getting the ‘certificate’ and to become a responsible citizen of Negara Brunei Darussalam…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. THE CLASS OF MAY 2009. A CUT ABOVE. « SHIMWORLD - 04/06/2009

    […] Read this story on BT online | visit Cikgu Mansor’s Blog […]

Leave a Reply

