Thank You Caroline – Brunei Times

4 Jun
I am truly dumb-folded...

I am truly dumbfounded ...

This, I Promise…

(my very first English poem)


I can’t promise you a rose garden
For its way out of my tiny might
The wildest of dreams
For I want just to be true
Till the day I’d come
With a heart full of blossoms
This, I promise…

I can’t promise you a Taj Mahal’s wedding
For I don’t even dare to dream
Knowing I would fail you
For not being me
And not being real
Dreaming the wildest of dreams
O yes, only my true love. This, I promise…

I can’t promise you showering gifts
The glitters of a woman needs
Those faraway beaches
Or Nusa Dua sunsets
For I have nothing more to give
Than my trusting you
And smiles on my face. This, I promise…

This, my love, I promise:
The sweetest smile you’ll ever had
A shoulder for you to cry-on
An ear always ready to listen
Eyes that look straight into yours
Comforting words when you’re angry
And children who would later be a somebody. I promise…

Camar Putih

Leave a Reply

